JGU auf einen Blick

JGU auf einen Blick

Die Johannes Gutenberg Universität Mainz (JGU) ist eine der größten Campusuniversitäten Deutschlands. Mehr als 32.000 Studierende aus über 120 Nationen studieren und forschen hier an zehn Fakultäten, die über 150 Institute sowie die Mainzer Musikschule, die Mainzer Kunsthochschule und das Universitätsklinikum zusammenbringen.JGU hat sich Top-Rankings in den Naturwissenschaften verdient und insbesondere in der Physik ist als führende Forschungsuniversität anerkannt.

Forschungsorientierte Bildung

Die JGU als umfassende Universität betont die disziplinäre Vielfalt und fördert die Kombination von Forschung und Lehre auf allen Studienstufen. Bachelor-Studiengänge umfassen die Ausbildung von Forschungskompetenzen und wissenschaftlichen Methoden. Masterstudiengänge vermitteln in der Regel methodisches Wissen und erfordern die Teilnahme an Forschungsprojekten. Studierende auf Postgraduierten-Niveau haben die Möglichkeit, eng mit leitenden Fakultätsmitgliedern zusammenzuarbeiten und eigene Forschungsprofile zu entwickeln.

Einstieg in eine internationale Karriere

Die JGU hat immer einen besonderen Wert darauf gelegt, nationale und kulturelle Grenzen zu überqueren. JGU hat ein Netzwerk von mehr als 150 Partneruniversitäten und 500 Kooperationen mit europäischen Partneruniversitäten mit besonders starken Verbindungen zu Frankreich, Polen sowie den Vereinigten Staaten, Südkorea und China geschaffen. Die Studenten der JGU finden ideale Bedingungen, um sich für eine internationale Karriere zu bilden und gleichzeitig ein sehr vielfältiges multikulturelles Umfeld zu finden.

Lage und strategisches Netzwerk

Die JGU liegt im Herzen des Rhein-Main-Kreises als zentraler Brennpunkt für Wirtschaftswachstum und technologische Innovation. Große Industrieunternehmen in der Region haben strategische Partnerschaften mit der JGU und die Universität unterstützt Forschungs-Spin-offs durch Beratung. Die JGU ist auch eine treibende Kraft der "Rhein Main University Alliance" zusammen mit der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt und der Technischen Universität Darmstadt, die vielfältige Kooperationsmöglichkeiten bietet.

Forschungsinfrastruktur

Die Grundlage für Spitzenforschung an der JGU liegt in der exzellenten Infrastruktur. Neben modernsten Forschungsanlagen – etwa Technologien zur Dünnfilmabscheidung, Reinräumen für Nanofabrikation und –charakterisierung, Präzisionsmesstechnik, klimatisierten optischen Labors mit Präzisionstischen und modernsten Lasern, Klimakammern, Heliumverflüssigern, Ultra-Niedrigtemperatur-Kryostaten, supraleitenden Magneten oder zentralen Detektor- und Elektroniklabors – verfügt die JGU auch über bestens ausgestattete Werkstätte, die von qualifizierten Technikern und Ingenieuren betrieben werden.

Computercluster MOGON

Der Cluster mit mehr als 30.000 Kernen für die Untersuchung von Elementarteilchenkollisionen, Gitterquantenchromodynamikberechnungen und die Simulation von Anwendungen kondensierter Materie.

TRIGA Forschungsreaktor

Der Forschungsreaktor dient als hochintensive Quelle von Neutronen zur Beantwortung grundlegender Fragen der Kernchemie und Physik.

Teilchenbeschleuniger MAMI

Der Beschleuniger liefert Elektronenstrahlen bis zu einer Energie von 850 MeV, so dass Forscher die Streuung von Elektronen und realen Photonen sowie Paritätsverletzungen untersuchen können.
"Science is beautiful when it makes simple explanations of phenomena or connections between different observations. Examples include the double helix in biology and the fundamental equations of physics."
Stephen Hawking

Subscribe to our Newsletter

    Address

    Johannes Gutenberg-University Mainz
    Faculty Physics, Mathematics and Computer Science
    • Staudingerweg 7
      55128 Mainz, Germany
    • +49 6131 39 20660
    • physics@uni-mainz.de

University at a glance

JGU at a glance

Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz (JGU) is one of the largest campus universities in Germany. More than 32,000 students from over 120 nations study and research here at ten faculties combining over 150 institutes as well as the Mainz School of Music, the Mainz School of Arts, and the University Medical Center. JGU has earned top rankings in the Natural Sciences and in particular in physics is recognized as a leading research university.

Research-oriented education

JGU as a comprehensive university stresses disciplinary diversity and fosters the combination of research and teaching on all degree levels. Bachelor's courses include the training of research skills and scientific methods. Master's programs usually convey methodological knowledge and require the participation in research projects. Students on postgraduate level have the opportunity to collaborate closely with senior faculty members and develop their own research profiles.

International Career Gateway

JGU has always put a special emphasis on crossing national and cultural boundaries. JGU has created a network of more than 150 partner universities and 500 cooperations with European partner universities, with especially strong ties to France, Poland, as well as the United States, South Korea, and China. Students at JGU find ideal conditions to train for international careers while at the same time finding a highly diverse multi-cultural environment.

Location and strategic network

JGU is located in the heart of the Rhine Main Region as a central hub of economic growth and technological innovation. Major industrial companies in the region have strategic partnerships with JGU and the university supports research spinoffs by providing consulting. JGU is also a driving force of the "Rhein Main University Alliance" together with Goethe University Frankfurt and the Technical University Darmstadt which offers manifold collaboration opportunities.

Research Infrastructure

The basis of our research is our excellent infrastructure. Starting with the availability of research facilities like advanced thin film deposition technology, clean rooms with nanofabrication and characterization, precision measurement technology, air-conditioned optical laboratories with precision tables and state-of-the-art lasers, climate chambers, helium liquefiers, ultra-low temperature cryostats, superconducting magnets, central detector and electronics labs, we also have access to our well-equipped workshops with technicians and engineers and operate major infrastructure facilities.

Computer Cluster MOGON

The cluster with more than 30,000 cores for the study of elementary particle collisions, lattice quantum chromodynamics calculations and the simulation of condensed matter applications.

TRIGA Research Reactor

The research reactor functions as high-intensity source of neutrons for answering fundamental questions in nuclear chemistry and physics.

Particle Accelerator MAMI

The accelerator provides electron beams up to an energy of 850 MeV, allowing researchers to study the scattering of electrons and real photons as well as parity violating effects.
"Science is beautiful when it makes simple explanations of phenomena or connections between different observations. Examples include the double helix in biology and the fundamental equations of physics."
Stephen Hawking

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Address

Johannes Gutenberg-University Mainz
Faculty Physics, Mathematics and Computer Science
  • Staudingerweg 7
    55128 Mainz, Germany
  • +49 6131 39 20660
  • physics@uni-mainz.de