Beiträge und Finanzierung

Finanzierung deines Studiums an der JGU

Obwohl das Studium in Deutschland im Allgemeinen gebührenfrei ist, wie es in der Verfassung verankert ist, müssen Studierende noch ihren Alltag und Ihr Studienmaterial finanzieren. Neben der Suche nach einem Studentenjob, der auch für Studierende aus dem Ausland möglich ist, gibt es eine breite Palette von Fördermöglichkeiten und Stipendien für Studierende. Das Bundesausbildungsförderungsgesetz (BAföG) ist das bekannteste Förderinstrument des Bundes, das deutschen Studierenden zur Verfügung steht, die bestimmte Anforderungen erfüllen.

Stipendien und mehr

Obwohl das Studium in Deutschland im Allgemeinen gebührenfrei ist, wie es in der Verfassung verankert ist, müssen Studierende noch ihren Alltag und Ihr Studienmaterial finanzieren. Eine Reihe von Stiftungen bietet Stipendien für Studierende auf verschiedenen Ebenen, in verschiedenen Bereichen und aus unterschiedlichen kulturellen und soziodemografischen Hintergründen an. Eine Übersicht über die verschiedenen Optionen ist online zu finden.



Stipendium für internationale Studierende

Der Fachbereich Physik, Mathematik und Informatik bietet für internationale Studierende, die mit ihrem Master of Science in Physik an der Johannes Gutenberg-Universitat Mainz anfangen, zwei Stipendien (jeweils 830€ im Monat) an. Das Stipendium wird für ein Jahr erteilt. Lies mehr darüber here.

Erschwingliche hochwertige Weiterbildung in Deutschland

Die deutsche Verfassung gewährt kostenlose Bildung als Grundrecht. Daher fallen bis auf eine kleine Semestergebühr, die ein Regionalverkehrsfahrkarte beinhaltet, keine Studiengebühren an. Die Lebenshaltungskosten in Deutschland sind im Vergleich zu anderen europäischen Länder recht angemessen. Wohngemeinschaften in der Innenstadt sind ab 300 EUR pro Monat verfügbar. Lebensmittel in Deutschland kosten im Durchschnitt 30 % weniger als in Frankreich, Großbritannien oder den USA.

Studentenjobs - Auch für internationale Studierende verfügbar

Gerade für Studierende, die ihr Studium unabhängig ohne finanzielle Unterstützung durch Dritte finanzieren müssen, sind Studentenjobs eine gute Möglichkeit, frühzeitige Forschungsqualifikationen mit praktischen finanziellen Vorteilen zu verbinden. Studentische Hilfskräfte können von Studierenden noch vor dem ersten Studium (BSc) besetzt werden. HIWIs arbeiten in der Regel bis zu 10 Stunden pro Woche und die entsprechenden Stellen werden von einzelnen Professoren oder Arbeitsgruppenleitern angeboten.

Arbeitserlaubnis

Internationale Studierende dürfen innerhalb bestimmter Grenzen und/oder nach den spezifischen Vorschriften ihrer Stipendienstiftung arbeiten. EU-Bürger und alle Studierenden mit unbefristeten Aufenthaltsgenehmigung können bis zu 20 Stunden pro Woche arbeiten (ohne ihren Studentenstatus zu verlieren und die damit verbundene Senkung der Gebühren für die Sozialversicherung). Alle anderen Nationalitäten können bis zu 120 Tage (oder 240 Halbtage) pro Jahr ohne Einschränkung des Berufsfeldes arbeiten.

"Science is beautiful when it makes simple explanations of phenomena or connections between different observations. Examples include the double helix in biology and the fundamental equations of physics."
Stephen Hawking

Subscribe to our Newsletter

    Address

    Johannes Gutenberg-University Mainz
    Faculty Physics, Mathematics and Computer Science
    • Staudingerweg 7
      55128 Mainz, Germany
    • +49 6131 39 20660
    • physics@uni-mainz.de

Fees and Funding

Funding your studies at JGU

While studying in Germany in general is free of tuition-fees, as granted in the Constitution, students still need to finance their daily lives and study material. In addition to finding a student job, which is also possible for students from abroad, there is a wide range of funding opportunities and scholarships available for students. Germany's Federal Training Assistance Act (BAföG) is the most well-known funding instrument by the federal government which is available to German students who fulfill certain requirements.

Scholarships and more

While studying in Germany in general is free of tuition-fees, as granted in the Constitution, students still need to finance their daily lives and study material. A number of foundations offer scholarships to students on different levels, in different fields, and from different cultural and socio-demographic backgrounds. An overview of the different options can be found online.

Affordable high-quality career training in Germany

The German constitution grants free education as a basic right. Hence, except for a small semester fee that includes a regional transportation ticket, there are no tuition fees. The living expenses in Germany are fairly reasonable compared to other European destinations. Shared housing in the center city is available starting at 300 EUR per month. Groceries in Germany on average cost 30% less than in France, or the UK, or the U.S.

Student positions – also available for internationals

Especially for students who need to fund their studies independently without financial support from third parties, student positions are a great way of combining early research qualification with practical financial benefits. Student assistant positions (“WiHi” – Wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft) can be filled by students even before completing the first degree (BSc). WiHis usually work up to 10 hours per week and the respective positions are offered by individual professors or group leaders.

Work regulations

International students are allowed to work within certain limits and/or according to the specific regulations of their scholarship foundation. EU citizens and all students with unlimited residence permit may work up to 20 hours per week (without losing their student status and the connected reduction of fees for social security insurance). All other nationalities may work for up to 120 days (or 240 half days) per year without restriction of job field.

Research Infrastructure

The basis of our research is our excellent infrastructure. Starting with the availability of research facilities like advanced thin film deposition technology, clean rooms with nanofabrication and characterization, precision measurement technology, air-conditioned optical laboratories with precision tables and state-of-the-art lasers, climate chambers, helium liquefiers, ultra-low temperature cryostats, superconducting magnets, central detector and electronics labs, we also have access to our well-equipped workshops with technicians and engineers and operate major infrastructure facilities.

"Science is beautiful when it makes simple explanations of phenomena or connections between different observations. Examples include the double helix in biology and the fundamental equations of physics."
Stephen Hawking

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Address

Johannes Gutenberg-University Mainz
Faculty Physics, Mathematics and Computer Science
  • Staudingerweg 7
    55128 Mainz, Germany
  • +49 6131 39 20660
  • physics@uni-mainz.de