Prof. Dr. Jure Demsar

Professor für Festkörper Experimentalphysik

Labs at JGU

Physiker haben oft die Aufgabe, neuartige Materialien, Konzepte und Geräte zu entwickeln. Von der Automobil-, Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik, der optischen Technologie, den erneuerbaren Energien bis hin zur Telekommunikation, medizinischen Anwendungen und Verteidigung, stellen Physiker ein. "Neben unseren Problemlösungskompetenzen qualifiziert uns vor allem unser tiefes Verständnis von Materie für diese Aufgaben", erklärt Jure Demsar.

Physiker nehmen eine führende Rolle bei der Entwicklung und Anwendung neuartiger Nanomaterialien ein

Eine ziemlich neue und sich rasch entwickelnde Disziplin ist die Nanotechnologie. Physiker spielen eine führende Rolle bei der Entwicklung und Anwendung neuartiger Nanomaterialien wie Nanoröhren oder geschichteter Materialien (z. B. Graphen) mit faszinierenden physikalischen Eigenschaften."Einige dieser Materialien revolutionieren bereits Bereiche wie Hochleistungsbatterien, Solarzellen, Datenspeichergeräte, Medikamentenlieferungen und Computer", hebt Demsar das Innovationspotenzial hinter der Physik in diesen Bereichen hervor.

Physiker wenden neue Technologien und Verfahren an

Dies gilt auch für neue medizinische Technologien, Medikamente und Verfahren. Ein wichtiger Faktor beim Studium der Physik als Türöffner zur Arbeit im Technologiesektor sollte nicht vergessen werden: Physiker verdienen in der Regel mehr als Kollegen aus anderen Branchen, die in diesen Branchen arbeiten.

Mehr zu den innovativen Forschungsprojekten von Jure Demsar: http://www.demsar-lab.physik.uni-mainz.de/49.php

Labs at JGU
"Not only is the Universe stranger than we think, it is stranger than we can think."
Werner Heisenberg, Across the Frontiers

Subscribe to our Newsletter

    Address

    Johannes Gutenberg-University Mainz
    Faculty Physics, Mathematics and Computer Science
    • Staudingerweg 7
      55128 Mainz, Germany
    • +49 6131 39 20660
    • physics@uni-mainz.de

Prof. Dr. Jure Demsar

Professor for Experimental Solid-State Physics

Labs at JGU

Physicists are often tasked with developing novel materials, concepts, and devices. Multiple industries, ranging from automotive and aerospace technology, optical technology, renewable energy, to telecommunications, medical applications, and defense, hire physicists. “Besides our problem-solving skills, especially our in-depth understanding of matter qualifies us for these jobs,” explains Jure Demsar.

Physicists are taking a leading role in the development and application of novel nanomaterials

A rather novel and rapidly developing discipline is nanotechnology. Physicists are taking a leading role in the development and application of novel nanomaterials such as nanotubes or layered materials (e.g., graphene) with fascinating physical properties. “Some of these materials are already revolutionizing fields such as high power batteries, solar cells, data storage devices, drug delivery, and computers,” Demsar highlights the innovation potential behind physics in these areas.

Physicists apply new technologies and procedures

This also applies to new medical technologies, medicines, and procedures. One important factor when thinking about studying physics as a door opener to working in the technology sector should not be forgotten: Physicists usually earn more than colleagues from other fields working in these industries.

More on Jure Demsar’s innovative research projects: http://www.demsar-lab.physik.uni-mainz.de/49.php

Labs at JGU
"Not only is the Universe stranger than we think, it is stranger than we can think."
Werner Heisenberg, Across the Frontiers

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Address

Johannes Gutenberg-University Mainz
Faculty Physics, Mathematics and Computer Science
  • Staudingerweg 7
    55128 Mainz, Germany
  • +49 6131 39 20660
  • physics@uni-mainz.de