Prof. Dr. Hartmut Wittig

Professor Kernphysik Institut & Koordinator des PRISMA Exzellenzclusters

In vielen Disziplinen bedeutet Studium, in den Unterricht zu gehen und Bücher zu lesen, was auf dem Graduiertenniveau noch mehr gilt. Aber die Physik ist in vielerlei Hinsicht anders, vor allem an der JGU, die einem Konzept der forschungsorientierten Lehre folgt.

Studierende, die als Forscher behandelt werden

Das heißt nicht, dass Bücher und Klassen nicht mehr wichtig sind. Doch der Fokus verlagert sich auf die "wirklich interessanten Themen", wie Hartmut Wittig erklärt. "Auf der Master-Ebene geht es nicht nur darum, Lehrbuchwissen zu erlangen. Sie werden Teil der Physik-Community und können sich mit hochaktuellen Forschungsfragen im Vordergrund des Wissensgewinns auseinandersetzen."

Was Wittig hier beschreibt, ist die Möglichkeit für Studierende, sich einer von mehr als 60 Forschungsgruppen anzuschließen, die in der theoretischen und experimentellen Physik arbeiten, darunter so unterschiedliche Bereiche wie Astroteilchenphysik, Dunkle Materie-Suche, Detektorentwicklung, Messtheorien und Quantenoptik. Als Student hast du die einzigartige Möglichkeit, Teams von international herausragenden Studierenden und Wissenschaftlern beizutreten, und du kannst bereits dein eigenes internationales Netzwerk aufbauen.

Chance für Studierende, an der Forschung teilzunehmen

"Studenten beschweren sich heute oft über den schulähnlichen Lehrplan des Studiums", fügt Wittig hinzu, "aber an der JGU endet das definitiv, sobald man das Masterstudium beginnt". Und für Studierende, die mit der richtigen Einstellung und dem richtigen Interesse an dem Thema kommen, "können Sie schon einen Vorgeschmack auf die Graduiertenforschung bekommen."

PhD student at the detector laboratory

Forschungsorientiertes Lernen und Lehren an der JGU

Die Einheit von Forschung und Lehre wird oft nur als historisches Merkmal mit geringer Relevanz für das moderne Hochschulsystem betrachtet. An der JGU ist es jedoch eines der wichtigsten strategischen Ziele, die Forschung von anfang an in die Lehre zu integrieren. Dazu gehört zum einen, die neuesten Forschungsergebnisse in die angebotenen Kurse einzubeziehen. Auf der anderen Seite werden die Studierenden ermutigt, sich aktiv an laufenden und aufstrebenden Forschungsprojekten zusammen mit fortgeschritteneren Wissenschaftlern zu beteiligen. Die JGU bietet unter anderem spezielle Schulungen zu forschungsorientierten Lehrmethoden für Mitarbeiter an und fördert innovative Lehrformate.

Erfahre mehr über forschungsorientierte Lehre: https://www.gtc.uni-mainz.de/calls-for-applications-of-the-gtc/

"Nothing happens until something moves."
Albert Einstein

Subscribe to our Newsletter

    Address

    Johannes Gutenberg-University Mainz
    Faculty Physics, Mathematics and Computer Science
    • Staudingerweg 7
      55128 Mainz, Germany
    • +49 6131 39 20660
    • physics@uni-mainz.de

Prof. Dr. Hartmut Wittig

Professor at the Institute of Nuclear Physics & coordinator of PRISMA Cluster of Excellence

In many disciplines, studying means going to classes and reading books, which is true to an even larger extent on the graduate level. But physics is different in many ways, especially at JGU which follows a concept of research-oriented teaching.

Students treated as a researcher

This does not mean that books and classes are not important anymore. But the focus shifts towards the “really interesting issues,” as Hartmut Wittig explains. “On the Master level, it is not merely a matter of gaining textbook knowledge. You become part of the physics community and you can deal with highly topical research questions at the forefront of knowledge gain.”

What Wittig describes here is the opportunity for students to join one of more than 60 research groups working in theoretical and experimental physics, including fields as diverse as astroparticle physics, dark matter searches, detector development, gauge theories and quantum optics. As a graduate student, you have the unique opportunity to join teams of internationally outstanding students and scholars, and you can already build up your own international network

Opportunity for students to join research

“Students often complain about the school-like curriculum of university studies today,” Wittig adds, “but at JGU, this definitely ends as soon as you start your graduate degree.” And for students who come with the right attitude and interest in the subject matter, “you can already get a taste of graduate research by becoming involved in the later stages of your Bachelor’s.”

PhD student at the detector laboratory

Research-oriented learning and teaching at JGU

The unity of research and teaching is often merely regarded as a historical trait with little relevance for the modern university system. At JGU, however, it is one of the primary strategic goals to integrate research into teaching from an early stage onwards. On the one hand, this includes incorporating the latest research results into the courses that are being offered. On the other hand, students are encouraged to actively participate in ongoing and emerging research projects together with more advanced scientists. Among other things, JGU offers special trainings on research-oriented teaching methods for staff members and provides funding for innovative teaching formats.

Learn more about research oriented teaching (German): https://www.gtc.uni-mainz.de/calls-for-applications-of-the-gtc/

"Nothing happens until something moves."
Albert Einstein

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Address

Johannes Gutenberg-University Mainz
Faculty Physics, Mathematics and Computer Science
  • Staudingerweg 7
    55128 Mainz, Germany
  • +49 6131 39 20660
  • physics@uni-mainz.de