Die Gesetze der Natur und der Ursprung des Universums

Bachelor of Science
Physik

Der Bachelor ist der optimale akademische Einstieg in die Welt der Physik, also in die Wissenschaft, die die Ursprünge des Universums erklärt. Das Bachelorstudium an der JGU bietet eine umfassende Grundlagenausbildung und ermöglicht gleichzeitig eine frühzeitige Spezialisierung inklusive Forschungserfahrung.

Ects
Dauer
Abschluss
Semesterbeitrag
Wohnen
Anforderungen
Bewerbungsfrist
Sprache
Spezialisierungswege
Unsere Profs
Austauschprogramm
Besonderheiten

Fünf Gründe für deinen Bachelor an der JGU

  • 1.

    Bezahlbare und exzellente Ausbildung

    Im deutschen Grundgesetz ist das Recht auf Bildung verankert. Studieren ist daher bis auf die Semestergebühr von ca. 320 Euro, die auch das Nahverkehrsticket abdeckt, kostenfrei. Auch die Lebenshaltungskosten in Deutschland sowie Wohnen in Mainz sind im europäischen Vergleich überschaubar.

    Zimmer in Wohngemeinschaften in der Stadt gibt es ab ca. 300 Euro, auf dem Campus gibt es außerdem Apartments und Zimmer in Wohnheimen. Essen, vor allem frisches Obst und Gemüse, ist in Deutschland ca. 30% günstiger als etwa in Frankreich, Großbritannien oder den USA.

  • 2.

    Attraktive Einstiegsmöglichkeiten für deutsche und internationale Studierende

    Ein Studienbeginn ist im Sommersemester oder im Wintersemester möglich. Im Bachelorstudiengang wird vorwiegend auf Deutsch studiert. Einige ausgewählte Kurse werden auch auf Englisch angeboten, um die Studierenden auf internationale Karrieren in Forschung und Industrie vorzubereiten.

    Internationale Studienbewerber müssen Deutschkenntnisse auf dem Niveau B1 nachweisen. Es werden außerdem besondere Mathematikkurse – sog. Vorkurse – angeboten, durch die die Studierenden optimal auf die Anforderungen des Physikstudiums vorbereitet werden.

  • 3.

    Herausragende Professoren und individuelle Betreuung

    Der Lehrkörper im Fachbereich Physik, Mathematik und Informatik besteht aus 70 Professorinnen und Professoren und ca. 300 wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern. Für Erstsemester im Bachelor of Science ergibt sich so ein Verhältnis von 1:1 zwischen Studierenden und Dozenten.

    Viele unserer Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler sind an richtungsweisenden internationalen Forschungsprojekten wie ATLAS oder JUNO beteiligt. Individuelles Mentoring, kleine Gruppen und frühzeitige Forschungserfahrung garantieren somit eine exzellente akademische Ausbildung und individuelle Förderung.

  • 4.

    Zielgerichtetes und flexibles Curriculum

    Die Vorlesungsreihe “Mathematik für Physiker” ist auch über die Grenzen der JGU hinaus bekannt. Der Aufbau der Vorlesungsreihe vermittelt gezielt die mathematischen Fähigkeiten und Kenntnisse, die man für ein erfolgreiches Physikstudium braucht.

    Gleichzeitig stellt die JGU sicher, dass die vermittelten Mathematikkenntnisse für das Physikstudium auch relevant sind. Neben dem verpflichtenden Kernkurrikulum haben die Studierenden außerdem die Möglichkeit, die exzellente Forschungsinfrastruktur zu nutzen und fächerübergreifend ein individuelles Forschungsprofil auszubilden.

  • 5.

    Campus-Universität und studentisches Leben

    Mit mehr als 33 000 Studierenden aus 120 Nationen gehört die JGU zu den größten und internationalsten Universitäten Deutschlands. Der Großteil der 250 Studiengänge kann direkt auf dem Campus in Mainz studiert werden. Ein lebendiges und internationales Studienerlebnis ist in Mainz somit garantiert.

    Bei ihren Studierenden und Gästen aus dem In- und Ausland ist die JGU für ihre offene und freundliche Atmosphäre bekannt. Zudem werden zahlreiche soziale Aktivitäten angeboten, die dir einen reibungslosen Start und eine rasche Eingewöhnung an der Universität erleichtern.

What our professors say about JGU

Prof. Dr. Lucia Masetti

Professorin der experimentellen Teilchenphysik, ATLAS Gruppe

"Advanced physics studies allow you to follow your curiosity to explain the basic laws of nature."

Prof. Dr. Concettina Sfienti

Physik Professorin, Kernphysikerin in Wissenschaft verliebt!

"Concettina Sfienti on building bridges for young researchers at the new Master Academy and passing on the love of science"

Jun. Prof. Dr. Matthias Schott

Lichtenberg Professor bei ETAP Gruppe (Experimentelle Teilchen- und Astroteilchen Physik)

"A Master’s is essential for a career in research and industry."

Prof. Dr. Hartmut Wittig

Professor Kernphysik Institut & Koordinator des PRISMA Exzellenzclusters

"As a Master’s ‘student’ at JGU, you are already treated as a researcher."

Prof. Dr. Jure Demsar

Professor für Festkörper Experimentalphysik

"Physics is a future-oriented field because it drives technological advancement"

mehr lesen
"Not only is the Universe stranger than we think, it is stranger than we can think."
Werner Heisenberg, Across the Frontiers

Subscribe to our Newsletter

    Address

    Johannes Gutenberg-University Mainz
    Faculty Physics, Mathematics and Computer Science
    • Staudingerweg 7
      55128 Mainz, Germany
    • +49 6131 39 20660
    • physics@uni-mainz.de

Exploring the laws of nature and the origin of the Universe

Bachelor of Science
Physics

The Bachelor is your entry point to exploring the laws of nature and the origin of the Universe on the highest level of academic excellence. The six-semester Bachelor offers you a comprehensive physics education while at the same time fostering early specialization and research experience.

Ects
Duration
Degree
Semester Fee
Living
Requirements
Application Deadlines
Language
Specialization Options
Our Profs
Study Abroad Options
Features
Infografik Degree Programs

5 Reasons for your Bachelor at JGU

  • 1.

    Affordable high-quality education in Germany

    The German constitution grants free education as a basic right. Hence, except for a small semester fee, around 320 EUR per semester, that includes a regional transportation ticket, there are no tuition fees. The living expenses in Germany, as well as housing in Mainz, are fairly reasonable compared to other European destinations.

    Shared housing in the center city is available starting at 300 EUR per month, special student housing in apartments or dorms is also offered by JGU. Food, incl. fresh fruit and vegetables, is about 30% less costly on average than in France, the U.K. or the U.S.

  • 2.

    Attractive entry opportunities for national and international students

    You can start your BSc in the winter and summer semester. The BSc is offered in German with a few advanced lectures available in English to prepare students for international careers in research and industry.

    As a foreign applicant, JGU requires knowledge of German on B1 level. Special preparatory courses in maths, so-called Vorkurse, equip you with all the knowledge you need to have the best starting position for your physics degree.

  • 3.

    Excellent professors and mentoring

    The faculty in physics amounts to around 70 professors and some 300 academic staff members. This equals a student-to-professor ratio of almost 1:1 for every newly starting BSc student.

    Most researchers are active in groundbreaking international experiments such as ATLAS or JUNO. Individual mentoring, small-group tutoring, and early research experience with junior and senior physicists ensure high-quality training and individual support.

  • 4.

    Focused but flexible curriculum

    JGU is known for offering the specialized lecture series “Mathematics for Physicists.” The format of the series ensures that you acquire excellent mathematical skills for your physics education.

    At the same time JGU ensures that everything you learn in maths is relevant for your physics education. In addition to the core curriculum, the excellent research infrastructure at JGU allows you to engage in interdisciplinary research to pursue individual interests.

  • 5.

    Campus university and student life

    With around 33,000 students from 120 nations, JGU has one of the largest and most international student populations in Germany. Most of the 250 courses of study at JGU are offered on the central campus in Mainz with a vibrant student life.

    JGU is known among students and international visitors for its open-minded and friendly atmosphere. A broad range of on- and off-campus social activities are offered by student groups that help you integrate quickly.

What our professors say about JGU

Prof. Dr. Lucia Masetti

Professor for Experimental Particle Physics, ATLAS Group

"Advanced physics studies allow you to follow your curiosity to explain the basic laws of nature."

Prof. Dr. Concettina Sfienti

Physics professor, nuclear physicist in love with science!

"Concettina Sfienti on building bridges for young researchers at the new Master Academy and passing on the love of science"

Jun. Prof. Dr. Matthias Schott

Lichtenberg Professor at ETAP group (Experimental Particle and Astroparticle Physics)

"A Master’s is essential for a career in research and industry."

Prof. Dr. Hartmut Wittig

Professor at the Institute of Nuclear Physics & coordinator of PRISMA Cluster of Excellence

"As a Master’s ‘student’ at JGU, you are already treated as a researcher."

Prof. Dr. Jure Demsar

Professor for Experimental Solid-State Physics

"Physics is a future-oriented field because it drives technological advancement"

More Stories
"Not only is the Universe stranger than we think, it is stranger than we can think."
Werner Heisenberg, Across the Frontiers

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Address

Johannes Gutenberg-University Mainz
Faculty Physics, Mathematics and Computer Science
  • Staudingerweg 7
    55128 Mainz, Germany
  • +49 6131 39 20660
  • physics@uni-mainz.de